• June 29, 2012
  • 2 minutes read

Egyptian President-Elect Meets with Youth and Revolutionary Representatives

Egyptian President-Elect Meets with Youth and Revolutionary Representatives

Egyptian President-elect, Mohamed Morsi, met at the presidential palace in Cairo, on Wednesday, with a group of representatives of youth and revolutionary groups, movements and stakeholders, which participated in the meeting of June 22 to form the Egyptian National Front.

Dr. Morsi has already met with leaders and representatives of various sections of society to explore their views and vision for the future course of national action.

Dr. Yasser Ali, acting media spokesman of the President-elect, said that during the meeting, Dr. Morsi stressed that there must be an expanded national dialogue with representatives of all the spectra of Egyptian society, to air all views openly and transparently, adding that different perspectives do not mean different goals.

Meanwhile, attendees affirmed that the election resulted in victory for a President of all Egyptians, and that he deserves the people’s full support, expressing confidence that all the promises made during the election campaign will be honored.

They also stressed that there is "no authority above the people", that openness and transparency between the President and the people are the shortest way to gain their confidence, and that they would all support him in toward this.

Dr. Yasser Ali stated that the President’s meetings, during the coming period, will include another group of representatives of the Egyptian society, including intellectuals, writers and creators, women, human rights groups and political parties, to complete the national program of action which will be implemented in the coming period.

The meeting was attended by Dr. Mohamed Beltagy, Dr. Alaa Aswani, Dr. Abdul-Jalil Mustafa, Dr. Sayf Abdel-Fattah, Heba Raouf, Wael Ghoneim, Shadi Al-Ghazali Harb, Tamim Barghouthi, Mohamed Al-Qassas, Dr. Hassan Nafaa, Ahmed Imam, Sakina Fouad, Wael Qandil, Dr. Mohamed Al-Saeed Idris, Islam Lutfi, Dr. Hatem Azzam, Asmaa Mahfouz, Dr. Mohamed Al-Shahawi, Dr. Ayman Al-Sayyad, Ahmed Atta-Allah Fouad, Mahmoud Afifi, and Salem Ramadan.