• December 24, 2012
  • 16 minutes read

Great Partisan, Community Diversity in Appointed Shura Council Membership by Presidential Edict

Great Partisan, Community Diversity in Appointed Shura Council Membership by Presidential Edict

A great diversity marks the list of 90 members appointed to the Shura Council (SC – the upper chamber of the Egyptian Parliament) by President Mohamed Morsi’s Decree, with the lineup comprising representatives of 17 political parties, including 12 which have no elected members in the SC.

The presidential decree also includes 4 jurists and constitutional scholars, 15 Copts (8 representing churches), 5 Azhar officials, 2 representing youths wounded in the revolution, and 8 representing women.

Moreover, the appointee list includes diverse representation of the full spectrum of Egyptian society, from NGOs and trade unions to academics and legal experts, as well as athletes and Sinai and Matrouh tribes and Sufi Order preachers.

In a statement, the Presidency said that the Decree appointing SC members came within the framework of efforts leading from the fourth round of national dialogue, which discussed the criteria for selecting SC members to be appointed by the presidential decree.

The Presidency confirmed that the President of Egypt issued the appointment decree, in accordance with relevant laws, out of his desire to expand the circle of participation in the political process, to include diverse political and societal forces as well as a number of public figures, scholars and experts, within the SC.

Below is a breakdown of the full list of appointed members:

Wassat Party

1. Dr. Iman Amin Kandil Mohamed, Assistant Secretary of Wassat Party

2. Tarek Abdel-Moneim Yahya Hassan Al-Malt, member of the supreme body of Wassat Party

3. Tarek Youssef Mohamed Koreitem, Secretary of Wassat Party in Alexandria

4. Atef Abdel-Raouf Awad Al-Sayed, member of Wassat Party – journalist and writer

5. Essam Mohamed Shibl Mohamed Morsi, member of the supreme body of Wassat Party

6. Amr Farouk Mohamed Farid, Wassat Party spokesman

7. Yahya Mohamed Abul-Hassan Ibrahim, treasurer and member of the supreme body of Wassat Party and President of the International e-Tourism Organization

8. Mohamed Abdel-Latif Talaat Qasim, Wassat Party Secretary-General

9. Hussein Al-Saeed Ahmed Zayed, Wassat Party Assistant Secretary-General


Freedom and Justice

1. Al-Sayed Raafat Al-Sayed Al-Abid, FJP in Suez

2. Ahmed Mohamed Abdul-Rahman

3. Ashraf Mahmoud Mohamed Badr Al-Din

4. Amir Mohamed Bassam Mohamed Youssef

5. Abbas Abdel-Aziz Abbas

6. Subhi Saleh Moussa, FJP in Alexandria

7. Essam El-Din Mohamed Hussein El-Erian, FJP in Giza

8. Khaled Abdel-Qadir Ali Ahmed Ouda

9. Hisham Ahmed Hanafi Al-Qadi, FJP in Qena

10. Mohamed Mohamed Abdel-Rahman

11. Mohamed Gamal Ahmed Heshmat, FJP in Beheira

12. Abdul-Qadir Abdul-Wahab Abdul-Qadir, FJP in Beni Suef

13. Sayed Abdel-Azim Mahmoud Heikel, FJP in Beni Suef


Ghadd Althawra Party

1. Hisham Moussead Al-Haroni, Ghadd Althawra Party and Industrial Development Authority chief

2. Mohamed Mohieddin Mohamed Osman, Ghadd Althawra Party and Professor of Engineering at the University of Beni Suef

3. Mohamed Ragab Ismail Auf, Ghadd Althawra Party in Dakahlia

4. Abdel-Moneim Hassan Al-Tunsi, Chairman of Ghadd Althawra Party

5. Sobhi Saeed Abdel-Motaal, Ghadd Althawra Party

6. Ayman Abdel-Halim Heyba, Ghadd Althawra Party in Kafr El-Dawwar


Other parties

1. Rami Raymond Michel Lakeh, Reform and Development Party

2. Fadeya Salim Abdullah, Reform and Development Party

3. Mohamed Badawi Al-Sayed Dessouqi, Reform and Development Party

4. Ali Freig Rashid Salam, Arab Justice and Equality Party chief – first political party to embrace Sinai Arab tribes

5. Abdul-Rahman Ahmed Hassan Haridi, Egyptian Current Party

6. Abdel-Hamid Abdel-Hafiz Ahmed Barakat, Labor Party deputy chief

7. Tharwat Mohamed Anwar Nafie, Front Party


People wounded in the revolution

1. Ekrami Saad Ali

2. Ahmed Gharib Mohamed Ghaafar


Official Religious Institutions:

– Churches (10 members)

1. Sameh Fawzi Hanin Abdel-Malak

2. Susie Adly Nashid Gerges

3. Kamal Suleiman Bishara Shenouda

4. Freddie Safwat Naguib

5. Gamil Halim Halim Mikhail

6. Nadia Henry Bishara Gerges

7. Nabil Azmi Wassif

8. Nelly Emile Fam Yacoub

9. Mamdouh Ramzi Athanasius Moussa

10. Magid Naguib Aqqad


– Al-Azhar (5 members)

1. Hassan Mahmoud Abdel-Latif Al-Shafei

2. Abdel-Dayem Mohamed Abdel-Rahman Naseer, Azhar Sheikh adviser for Education,

3. Nasr Farid Mohamed Wassel, former Grand Mufti of Egypt

4. Al-Qassabi Mahmoud Zalat, member of Azhar Council of Senior Scholars

5. Mohamed Abdul-Samad Muhanna, Azhar Sheikh adviser for Foreign Relations


Jurists and Constitutional Scholars

1. Ramadan Mohamed Batteikh Radwan, professor of law at Ain-Shams University

2. Hussein Hamid Hassan, Islamic finance expert and professor of law at Cairo University

3. Magid Ragheb Al-Hilou, professor of constitutional law at University of Alexandria

4. Mohamed Gamal Osman Gibril, professor of constitutional law at Helwan University


Military Personalities

1. Major General-of-Staff Mahmoud Awad Ghoneim Salem, former director of Nasser Higher Military Academy.

2. Major General Adel Mahmoud Mohamed Al-Morsi, former head of military justice

3. Major General Tarek Mohamed Ahmad Al-Mahdi, former member of the former Military Council


Nour Party, Islamic Legitimate Body for Rights and Reformation (ILBRR), and

Gama’a Islamiya

1. Ahmed Sayed Ali Sayed Al-Tamawi, Nour Party in Assiut

2. Mohamed Ibrahim Abdel-Aziz Abu-Souad, Nour Party

3. Khaled Fawzi Saqr, Salafist Preaching official in Helwan and member of the Fatwa Committee of the ILBRR

4. Safwat Ahmed Abdel-Ghani, Gama’a Islamiya

5. Salah Abdul-Maaboud Fayed Al-Sayed, member of Nour Party’s supreme body

6. Major General Adel Abdel-Maksoud Afifi, Asala Party chief

7. Mohamed Al-Saghir Abdel-Rahim Mohamed, Construction and Development Party, advisor to the Minister of Awqaf (Endowments)

8. Mohamed Yousry Ibrahim, ILBRR Secretary General


Public Figures

1. Abdul-Hadi Ahmed Abdul-Hadi Al-Qassabi, Sufi Order Sheikh and Elder

2. Mohamed Khairy Abdel-Dayem, head of doctors’ union

3. Dr. Mohamed Fahmi Tolba, chairman of the Egyptian Syndicate of Scientific Professions

4. Ali Ali Hubaysh, former head of the Egyptian Syndicate of Scientific Professions and former president of the Academy of Scientific Research

5. Amr Ahmed Helmi Ali, former Health Minister and professor of liver surgery at the National Institute of Liver

6. Mohamed Youssef Mohamed Moemin, Businessman

7. Awad Saeed Rahouma, Matrouh tribes

8. Talaat Hassan Muaaz Romeih, Journalist and writer

9. Mona Makram Ebeid, member of the National Council for Human Rights

10. Gabali Mohamed Gabali Abdul-Mugheeth, member of the Constituent Assembly

11. Kamal Ahmed Ahmed Amer

12. Leila Sami Mohamed Al-Labani

13. Mohamed Ali Awad Ali

14. Mohamed Omran Abdel-Meguid Raslan

15. Mohamed Farouk Mohamed Abdul-Meguid

16. Noha Mohamed Osman Mohamed

17. Gamal Mohamed Hamid Aaqir

18. Hatem Seif-Allah Mohamed Ibrahim

19. Hafez Farouk Hafez Mohamed Hussein

20. Rashid Salama Suleiman Ouda

21. Mohamed Ahmed Youssef Mohamed

22. Mohamed Osama Hamid Al-Kholi

23. Mohamed Al-Sayed Hanafi Qasim