Military rulers announce major cabinet shake-up swearing in new ministers

Military rulers announce major cabinet shake-up swearing in new ministers


Egyptian state television on Tuesday showed several new ministers being sworn in the country’s first cabinet reshuffle since a military council took power.

Egypt’s Council of Ministers officially announced its final selections for the ministerial portfolios.

In turn the military announced it would remain in power for six months or if necessary until elections, however opposition and protesters have dismissed the new designations and any new prospects of military rule.

According to reports the protesters want all their demands, including transition of power from the military to a civilian, democratic government, met. Furthermore they have called for the release of political prisoners, the lifting of a 30-year-old state of emergency and the disbandment of military court.

The reshuffle included the following officials’ appointments:
Ahmed Shafiq Prime Minister

Yehia al-Gamal as Deputy PM

Ashraf Hatem as Health Minister

Amr Ezzat Salama as Scientific Research Minister

Ahmed Gamal Eddin Mousa as Education Minister

Mahmoud Latif as Petroleum Minister

Munir Fakhry Abdel Nour as Tourism minister

Gouda Abdel Khaleq as Social Solidarity Minister

Ismail Fahmy as Manpower Minister

Maged Othman as Communications Minister

Safwat al-Nahas as Human Development Minister

Georgette Qilliny as Immigration Minister

Samir Sayad as Higher Education Minister.
Ministers to stay on from the previous cabinet include:

Samiha Fawzy as Industry Minister

Ahmed Abul Gheit as Foreign Minister

Mamdouh Marei as Justice Minister

Mahmoud Wagdy as Interior Minister.
So far there has been no announcement of a Trade and Investment minister.