NDP Secretary General Announces Cleansing of NDP Corrupt Party

NDP Secretary General Announces Cleansing of NDP Corrupt Party

The National Democratic Party’s new secretary general has issued a statement asserting that the party has initiated a “cleansing” campaign aimed at ousting all members involved in cases of corruption.

According to Mohamed Ragab, a list containing over 20 names of members proved to be involved in corruption cases, has been assembled and the party has scheduled a conference to take place next month in order to choose the party’s new president.

He added that high on the party’s priority list is the immediate dismissal of what he described as the corrupt members stressing that their removal will be a great asset to the party.

Corrupt members to be eliminated from the party include former ministers, officials and businessmen namely:

The NDP’s former Secretary for Organizational Affairs Ahmed Ezz,

Former Minister of Interior Habib al-Adly

Former Minister of Agriculture Amin Abaza

Former Minister of Housing Ahmed al-Maghrabi

Former Minister of Trade and Industry Rashid Mohamed Rashid

Former Minister of Tourism Zoheir Garana

Former Minister of Transport Mohamed Mansour

Former Minister of Petroleum Sameh Fahmy

Former Minister of Information Anas al-Fiqi

Former Minister of Finance Yousef Boutros-Ghali

Former Minister of Housing Mohammad Ibrahim Suleiman

Former head of Egyptian State TV Osama al-Sheikh

Businessman including Hisham Talat Mustafa

Businessman Mohamed Abul Enein.

According to sources Ragab confirmed that Safwat al-Sherif, Zakaria Azmy, Mufid Shehab, Gamal Mubarak, and Ali al-Din Hilal have handed in their resignations which were immediately accepted. To date the party’s chairman post has been vacant since Mubarak’s resignation.